GameXPloration

Connect with a universe of games.

Free interactive exhibit showcases games and gaming, from board games to video games to virtual reality.

Welcome to a universe of games, a universe that does not follow the dimensions of space and time, where you will play to learn and learn to play. See what games reveal about us. They allow us to explore new identities, relate to others and grow more competent in skills like critical thinking and problem-solving. Explore a universe of games and see yourself in a whole new dimension: as a gamer.

GameXPloration will be closed December 9 through December 12 for some interior construction.

Free
Price

This is a FREE experience.

Open through spring 2020. Duration subject to change.

Overview

Game on.

This 7,500-square-foot exhibit features a multitude of experiences that explore how games intersect with our lives and what they reveal to us about psychology, neuroscience and technology. Five worlds with different themes take visitors through the evolution of games and gaming, from board games to virtual reality.

UPCOMING ACTIVITIES

Wed. Dec 11
Thu. Dec 12
Sun. Dec 15
Mon. Dec 16
Tue. Dec 17
Wed. Dec 18
Thu. Dec 19
Sun. Dec 22
Mon. Dec 23
Thu. Dec 26
Sun. Dec 29
Mon. Dec 30
Tue. Dec 31
Wed. Jan 1
Thu. Jan 2
Sun. Jan 5
Mon. Jan 6
Tue. Jan 7
Wed. Jan 8
Thu. Jan 9
Sun. Jan 12
Mon. Jan 13
Tue. Jan 14
Wed. Jan 15
Thu. Jan 16
Sun. Jan 19
Mon. Jan 20
Tue. Jan 21
Wed. Jan 22
Thu. Jan 23
Sun. Jan 26
Mon. Jan 27
Tue. Jan 28
Wed. Jan 29
Thu. Jan 30

Wednesday, December 11

GameXPloration: CLOSED
12:00 am

Thursday, December 12

GameXPloration: CLOSED
12:00 am

Sunday, December 15

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Monday, December 16

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Tuesday, December 17

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Wednesday, December 18

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Thursday, December 19

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Sunday, December 22

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Monday, December 23

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Thursday, December 26

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Sunday, December 29

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Monday, December 30

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Tuesday, December 31

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Wednesday, January 01

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Thursday, January 02

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Sunday, January 05

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Monday, January 06

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Tuesday, January 07

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Wednesday, January 08

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Thursday, January 09

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Sunday, January 12

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Monday, January 13

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Tuesday, January 14

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Wednesday, January 15

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Thursday, January 16

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Sunday, January 19

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Monday, January 20

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Tuesday, January 21

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Wednesday, January 22

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Thursday, January 23

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Sunday, January 26

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Monday, January 27

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Tuesday, January 28

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Wednesday, January 29

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

Thursday, January 30

AR Climbing Wall
2:00 pm

5 Worlds

Let’s Play

Games have been played since the beginning of recorded history. What is a game? Who is a gamer? Why is play important? Explore all of these topics and climb on our AR (Augmented Reality) Climbing Wall. Take on competitors with some traditional board games and take a new look at chess on a vertical chess board.

Rise of Computers and Consoles

When you think about the word “technology,” a computer or digital device may come to mind. However, tools such as a hammer or a pencil are also forms of technology. This world explores how the technology of games has evolved over time, from ancient civilizations creating rubber bouncing balls out of tree sap, to computers and game consoles, to games on mobile devices. Use teamwork to play Super Mario Brothers on a controller so large you need to grab a partner and use your feet to hit the buttons. Check out the first widely known video game, Space War!

Rise of the Arcade

Games satisfy many core human needs and motivations, including autonomy (desire to have freedom of choice), competence (desire to control outcomes and master skills) and relatedness (desire to be connected to others). This area explores these motivations in arcades. Play Atari 2600: Pitfall, Pac-Man, Space Invaders, tube tennis (table tennis played through a tube), and 8-player foosball.

A New Reality

Explore how virtual and augmented reality modify our real world with digital technology. Find out how virtual reality and augmented reality are similar and what makes them distinct. Explore augmented reality with Merge Cube and virtual reality with HTC Vive. Check out 8-person Mindball and floor projected games.

Game Lab

Become the game creator. Learn about how game developers approach designing games. Play games developed by local developers and companies. Find out how you can become a game designer!

Visit

GameXPloration Programs for Groups

Experience GameXPloration with programming that your group or class will remember for a lifetime. Put on your VR goggles to learn about virtual reality, help build games, have fun exploring the science of gaming, and so much more. To schedule a group visit, visit our Groups & Field Trips page for more information.

Educational programming coming soon, call 314-289-4439 for more information. Visit our Groups & Field Trips page for more information.

Groups & Field Trips

Exhibit Policies

One adult chaperone is required for every 10 children.
No food or beverages are allowed in GameXPloration
No pencils, pens, markers or any other kind of writing implements are allowed.
Flash photography is not allowed. You may take photos without flash.

Accessibility

GameXPloration is accessible to visitors with disabilities, as well as visitors with strollers, scooters, and walkers. Elevators and ramps serve all public areas.

More About Accessibility

 

Sponsors