Back from the Brink

About

Saved From Extinction

Experience on the giant screen the remarkable true story of three animal species rescued from brink of extinction. Meet the scientists, park rangers and students working to save endangered animals around the world. Discover how California’s enchanting ‘Channel Island Fox’ is rescued from an invasion of Golden Eagles, the fastest recovery of a species in the history of animal conservation. Join the former hunters of one of the world’s most endangered primates, the Golden Monkey, now protect them in the fabled mountains of China’s Yunnan Province. Witness the wondrous migration of the ‘Christmas Island Red Crab,’ and marvel at their recovery from a Crazy Yellow Ant infestation in one of the most successful bio-control experiments ever undertaken. Join this remarkable and heartfelt adventure to save endangered species around the world.

To our guests, members and donors, learn about our guidelines, how to make a reservation and our new hours.

Omnimax Theater Safety Protocols

Same-day tickets for OMNIMAX films are available online, at the Science Center, or by calling our box office at 314.289.4400. Feature films may have special pricing. Discounts are available for groups of 10 or more.

 

Get Tickets Now

Member Benefit! To claim your free or discounted tickets, you can also call the Membership Reservations phone line, 314.289.4424 to reserve your spot without a fee.

Call

DVS(Descriptive Video Service) is not available for this film.
What is DVS?


Summer Value Passes have returned!

OPTION 1: $12.95
OMNIMAX® Theater Show
Planetarium Show
OPTION 2: $22.95
OMNIMAX® Theater Show
Mummies of the World: The Exhibition
OPTION 3: $27.95
OMNIMAX® Theater Show
Planetarium Show
Mummies of the World: The Exhibition

Up to 30% savings!

Package includes one entry to each experience. Good for all films and shows except for feature films and laser shows.
Cannot be combined with other offers. Price is the same for all ages.
Available on site only!


Movie Pricing

This is a paid experience.

Ages

Price
Members FREE*
Children (ages 2-12) $8.95
Adults (ages 13-59) $10.95
Seniors (ages 60+) $8.95
College Students with ID $8.95
Military $7.95

Get Tickets Now

Member Benefit! To claim your free or discounted tickets, you can also call the Membership Reservations phone line, 314.289.4424 to reserve your spot without a fee.

Call

Groups: $8 per person for all groups

Group Visit Information

*Free tickets based on membership level
Become a Member

Showtimes

Mon. Aug 2
Thu. Aug 5
Fri. Aug 6
Sat. Aug 7
Sun. Aug 8
Mon. Aug 9
Thu. Aug 12
Fri. Aug 13
Sat. Aug 14
Sun. Aug 15
Mon. Aug 16
Thu. Aug 19
Fri. Aug 20
Sat. Aug 21
Sun. Aug 22
Mon. Aug 23
Thu. Aug 26
Fri. Aug 27
Sat. Aug 28
Sun. Aug 29
Mon. Aug 30

Monday, August 02

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
4:45 pm

Thursday, August 05

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm
4:45 pm

Friday, August 06

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm

Saturday, August 07

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm

Sunday, August 08

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm

Monday, August 09

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm
4:45 pm

Thursday, August 12

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm
4:45 pm

Friday, August 13

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm
4:45 pm

Saturday, August 14

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm
4:45 pm

Sunday, August 15

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm
4:45 pm

Monday, August 16

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm
4:45 pm

Thursday, August 19

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm
4:45 pm

Friday, August 20

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm
4:45 pm

Saturday, August 21

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm
4:45 pm

Sunday, August 22

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm
4:45 pm

Monday, August 23

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm
4:45 pm

Thursday, August 26

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm
4:45 pm

Friday, August 27

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm
4:45 pm

Saturday, August 28

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm
4:45 pm

Sunday, August 29

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm
4:45 pm

Monday, August 30

OMNIMAX: Back From The Brink
11:00 am
2:30 pm
4:45 pm
CHRISTMAS ISLAND RED CRAB

Before the introduction of the Yellow Crazy Ant, there were about 40 million red crabs on Christmas Island!

Activity Guide

This extraordinary film explores the true stories of animals rescued from the brink of extinction!

Use this guide as your own nature science journal to help you connect with animals in your own backyard! Explore through hands-on science activities and learn about your own local BACK FROM THE BRINK: SAVED FROM EXTINCTION success stories. Although the Channel Island Fox, Christmas Island Red Crabs, and the Golden Monkey live in remote places on the planet, you can find similar stories nearby. Let your sense of wonder take over, as you discover the inspiring natural world that surrounds you!

We also need your help to protect our environment and save endangered species! Make the Back from the Brink Promise at www.backfromthebrink.com and commit to connecting with nature. By making the promise you will receive a certificate that recognizes your commitment and provides you with resources and event opportunities!

Remember to always seek adult permission and supervision before you venture outdoors and always give animals space when you see them. Never approach a wild animal.

Download Activity Guide

Back from the Brink - Education Guide

Location

OMNIMAX Theater films take place in the OMNIMAX Theater on the 2nd floor of the main 5050 Oakland Building. Access is available through the main entrance, then the stairs in the main lobby to the second floor.

Membership

Members get free OMNIMAX tickets.

Become a Science Center member and receive free Omnimax tickets and discounted admission to feature films, as well as a full year of additional members-only benefits.

Plus, members help support the Science Center and our mission to make science learning open to everyone.

Become a Member

Accessibility

Convenient wheelchair accessible seating for the OMNIMAX is available via the third floor theater entrance. Elevators and ramps serve all public areas of the OMNIMAX.

OMNIMAX offers hearing assistance that is not available in any theater in the region. This includes new adjustable caption devices, new hearing assistance devices with Descriptive Video Services(DVS) and Telecoil. When ordering tickets, please let your reservationist know you’re interested in these items, or see an usher before your film begins.

More About Accessibility