Into America’s Wild

About

From the Academy Award® nominated producers of the acclaimed hit film “National Parks Adventure” comes “Into America’s Wild,” a visually stunning cross-country adventure into the hidden wonders of the natural world. A nonstop ride via kayak, bike, train, hot air balloon, zipline and more, “Into America’s Wild” explores some of the most beautiful but little-known landscapes of North America, from the wilds of Alaska and the lush coastline of Oregon to the ancient canyons of the Southwest and the rolling hills of the Appalachian Trail. Setting out on this journey are three trailblazers — pioneering Native American astronaut John Herrington, Alaskan pilot and youth advocate Ariel Tweto, and record-breaking long-distance hiker Jennifer Pharr Davis — who share a passion for connecting people to experiences in the wild. As they wind their way through the scenic byways, ancient homelands, secret gems and hidden trails of America, viewers will discover the special human connection we all share with the natural world.

Narrated by Academy Award® winner Morgan Freeman and directed by Academy Award nominee Greg MacGillivray, “Into America’s Wild” is a MacGillivray Freeman film produced in association with Brand USA. The film is presented by Expedia and United Airlines.

RATING: G – General Audiences
RUNTIME: Approx. 45 minutes.

Learn how you can Explore Safe.

OMNIMAX Theater Safety Protocols

Get Tickets Now

 

NOW SHOWING

Same-day tickets for OMNIMAX films are available online, at the Science Center or by calling our box office at 314.289.4400. Feature films may have special pricing. Discounts are available for groups of 10 or more.
In Search of Nature’s Hidden Wonders

Ariel Owl

Step off the beaten path and connect to your inner trailblazer in this cross-country journey to some of the most beautiful but little-known landscapes of North America. From the wilds of Alaska and the lush coastline of Oregon to the ancient canyons of the Southwest and the rolling hills of the Appalachian Trail, Into America’s Wild is a non-stop ride via kayak, train, bike, hot air balloon and more that explores the transformational allure of wild places and the human connection we all share with the natural world.

Movie Pricing

This is a paid experience.

Ages

Price
Members FREE*
Children (ages 2-12) $8.95
Adults (ages 13-59) $10.95
Seniors (ages 60+) $8.95
College Students with ID $8.95
Military $7.95

Get Tickets Now

Groups: $8 per person for all groups

Group Visit Information

 

*Free tickets based on membership level
Become a Member

Showtimes

Thu. Sep 30
Fri. Oct 1
Sat. Oct 2
Sun. Oct 3
Mon. Oct 4
Thu. Oct 7
Fri. Oct 8
Sat. Oct 9
Sun. Oct 10
Mon. Oct 11
Thu. Oct 14
Fri. Oct 15
Sat. Oct 16
Sun. Oct 17
Mon. Oct 18
Thu. Oct 21
Fri. Oct 22
Sat. Oct 23
Sun. Oct 24
Mon. Oct 25

Thursday, September 30

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
10:00 am
1:15 pm
3:45 pm

Friday, October 01

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
11:00 am
1:15 pm
3:45 pm

Saturday, October 02

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
11:00 am
1:15 pm
3:45 pm

Sunday, October 03

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
1:15 pm
3:45 pm

Monday, October 04

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
11:00 am
1:15 pm
3:45 pm

Thursday, October 07

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
11:00 am
1:15 pm
3:45 pm

Friday, October 08

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
11:00 am
1:15 pm
3:45 pm

Saturday, October 09

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
11:00 am
1:15 pm
3:45 pm

Sunday, October 10

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
1:15 pm
3:45 pm

Monday, October 11

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
11:00 am
1:15 pm
3:45 pm

Thursday, October 14

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
11:00 am
1:15 pm
3:45 pm

Friday, October 15

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
11:00 am
1:15 pm
3:45 pm

Saturday, October 16

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
11:00 am
1:15 pm
3:45 pm

Sunday, October 17

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
1:15 pm
3:45 pm

Monday, October 18

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
11:00 am
1:15 pm
3:45 pm

Thursday, October 21

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
11:00 am
1:15 pm
3:45 pm

Friday, October 22

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
11:00 am
1:15 pm
3:45 pm

Saturday, October 23

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
11:00 am
1:15 pm
3:45 pm

Sunday, October 24

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
1:15 pm
3:45 pm

Monday, October 25

OMNIMAX: Into America’s Wild
11:00 am
1:15 pm
3:45 pm
Explore our own gateway to the wild, GROW.

Explore the science behind one of the most important parts of life: our food. Where does it come from? How does it grow? How far does it travel to get to us? And how can each of us ensure that everyone has delicious, nutritious food to eat? You’ll find the answers to these questions and so much more in GROW, the largest U.S. gallery of its kind focused solely on agriculture.

Come check our our new chickens, bees and everything GROW has to offer in our special outdoor area and pavilion!

Learn More

Activity Guide


Welcome to the Activity Guide for “Into America’s Wild,” a film for IMAX® and giant screen theaters about the wonders of nature. As filmmakers, we have been making educational documentaries for more than 40 years. This film is one of our most important efforts because in this age of technology-driven society, it reminds us of the importance of spending more time in nature. This is especially true for our children, who now spend, on average, approximately seven hours per day in front of some sort of screen — cell phones, TVs or computers.

We hope the film and the activities in this guide will strengthen a lifelong appreciation and enjoyment of our natural world and build a sense of responsibility to preserve and protect it. We also hope it highlights the importance of finding new ways for all people to have access to nature. “Into America’s Wild” was inspired, in part, by the work of author Richard Louv, who writes eloquently about the human right to nature-connection and the inequities to access that some experience due to race and income, among other factors. In the back of this guide, you will find a list of organizations that are working tirelessly to connect more people to nature and create greater access everywhere.

Studies show that spending time in nature makes us more creative and energetic, and it’s important to our overall well-being. Our guides in the film — pioneering Native American astronaut John Herrington and Alaskan pilot and youth advocate Ariel Tweeto — are inspiring role models as they share their passion for the out-of-doors.

Now is the time to leave our indoor spaces and learn in one of our best classrooms: outdoors in nature. So let’s go outside into our wild places — in our backyards, city parks, fields and streams — to explore, discover and learn, and at the same time be filled with joy and wonder about the plants, animals and natural systems that sustain us.

—The filmmaking team at MacGillivray Freeman Films

Download Activity Guide

Location

OMNIMAX Theater films take place in the OMNIMAX Theater on the 2nd floor of the main 5050 Oakland Building. Access is available through the main entrance, then the stairs in the main lobby to the second floor.

Membership

Members get free OMNIMAX tickets.

Become a Science Center member and receive free OMNIMAX tickets and discounted admission to feature films, as well as a full year of additional members-only benefits.

Plus, members help support the Science Center and our mission to make science learning open to everyone.

Become a Member

Accessibility

Convenient wheelchair accessible seating for the OMNIMAX is available via the third floor theater entrance. Elevators and ramps serve all public areas of the OMNIMAX.

OMNIMAX offers hearing assistance that is not available in any theater in the region. This includes new adjustable caption devices, new hearing assistance devices with Descriptive Video Services(DVS) and Telecoil. When ordering tickets, please let your reservationist know you’re interested in these items, or see an usher before your film begins.

More About Accessibility