Live Sky: The Constellations

About

Ancient Guides

Constellations are what we use to organize the sky, they help us locate the objects of interest to astronomy and they provide us a way to travel back in time to explore the ancient people who named them.

Price

This is a paid experience.
Adults (ages 13-59): $6, $7 for premium star shows
Children (ages 2-12) / Seniors (ages 60+): $5, $6 for premium star shows
Military: $4
Members: Free

Same-day tickets for Planetarium shows are available online, at the Science Center, or by calling our box office at 314.289.4400. Prices may vary depending on shows. Discounts are available for groups of 10 or more.

Overview

Our Night Skies

For ancient astronomers, the constellations were not only the products of scientific pursuits but often times also served as a means to understand their world and their very existence. Cultures around the world developed rich traditions seeped in astronomy that included their own interpretation of the constellations. Join us for this live presentation as we explore all about the constellations in our night skies.

Buy Tickets Now

Planetarium

Showtimes

Tue. Oct 22
Wed. Oct 23
Thu. Oct 24
Fri. Oct 25
Sat. Oct 26
Sun. Oct 27
Mon. Oct 28
Tue. Oct 29
Wed. Oct 30
Thu. Oct 31
Fri. Nov 1
Sat. Nov 2
Sun. Nov 3
Mon. Nov 4
Tue. Nov 5
Wed. Nov 6
Thu. Nov 7
Fri. Nov 8
Sat. Nov 9
Sun. Nov 10
Mon. Nov 11
Tue. Nov 12
Wed. Nov 13
Thu. Nov 14
Fri. Nov 15
Sat. Nov 16
Sun. Nov 17
Mon. Nov 18
Tue. Nov 19
Wed. Nov 20
Thu. Nov 21
Fri. Nov 22
Sat. Nov 23
Sun. Nov 24
Mon. Nov 25
Tue. Nov 26
Wed. Nov 27
Fri. Nov 29
Sat. Nov 30

Tuesday, October 22

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Wednesday, October 23

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Thursday, October 24

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Friday, October 25

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Saturday, October 26

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Sunday, October 27

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Monday, October 28

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Tuesday, October 29

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Wednesday, October 30

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Thursday, October 31

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Friday, November 01

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Saturday, November 02

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Sunday, November 03

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Monday, November 04

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Tuesday, November 05

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Wednesday, November 06

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Thursday, November 07

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Friday, November 08

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Saturday, November 09

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Sunday, November 10

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Monday, November 11

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Tuesday, November 12

Planetarium: Live Sky: Mission Mars
11:30 am
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Wednesday, November 13

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Thursday, November 14

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Friday, November 15

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Saturday, November 16

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Sunday, November 17

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Monday, November 18

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Tuesday, November 19

Planetarium: Live Sky: Mission Mars
11:30 am
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Wednesday, November 20

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Thursday, November 21

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Friday, November 22

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Saturday, November 23

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Sunday, November 24

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Monday, November 25

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Tuesday, November 26

Planetarium: Live Sky: Mission Mars
11:30 am
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Wednesday, November 27

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm

Friday, November 29

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
4:30 pm

Saturday, November 30

Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
4:30 pm
Visit
Members stargaze at a discount.

Save on Planetarium star shows with a Saint Louis Science Center membership.

Become a Member

Accessibility

Elevators and ramps serve all public areas of the McDonnell Planetarium.

We also offer hearing assist devices for Planetarium star shows. When ordering tickets, please let your reservationist know you’re interested in a hearing assist device, or speak with a Planetarium team member before your program begins.

With advance notice, the Planetarium offers Feeling the Stars, a custom tactile program for visitors with vision impairments that pairs with The Little Star That Could.

More About Accessibility