Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation

About

Bold. Beautiful. Deadly.

Discover molten worlds and exploding craters in an immersive experience that will have you on the edge of your seat. Travel around the world and dodge boulders at the edge of an active volcano in Indonesia, descend to a boiling lava lake in Vanuatu, dive beneath the waves to hydrothermal vents at the bottom of the ocean and witness the spectacular 2018 Kilauea eruption in Hawaii.

Rating: General
Runtime: 40 minutes

Get Tickets Now

CLOSES AUGUST 12

TICKETS ON SALE NOW

Same-day tickets for OMNIMAX films are available online, at the Science Center, or by calling our box office at 314.289.4400. Feature films may have special pricing. Discounts are available for groups of 10 or more.

Overview

Volcanoes is a tale of science, culture, and thrilling adventure! Earth is a planet born of fire. For billions of years, volcanoes have helped create the world we know. From the continents to the air we breathe and even life itself, all have their origins in fire. With over 500 active volcanoes, Earth is bursting at the seams with these forces of mass construction. The story of volcanoes is the story of the planet’s creation, and the story of us.

Volcanoes features up close views of active eruptions in Africa, Indonesia, Hawaii, Europe, and even under the ocean. Throughout the film, the narrator talks about the geological history of our earth and the physical forces that combine to form the spectacular forces of nature.

Volcanoes is an SK Films release of a Digital Crossing Production, directed and produced by Michael Dalton-Smith. The film has a run time of 40 minutes.

Get Tickets Now


Movie Pricing

This is a paid experience.

Ages

Price
Members FREE*
Children (ages 2-12) $8.95
Adults (ages 13-59) $10.95
Seniors (ages 60+) $8.95
College Students with ID $8.95
Military $7.95

Get Tickets Now

Member Benefit! To claim your free or discounted tickets, you can also call the Membership Reservations phone line, 314.289.4424 to reserve your spot without a fee.

Call

Groups: $8 per person for all groups

Group Visit Information

*Free tickets based on membership level
Become a Member

Showtimes

Thu. Aug 5
Fri. Aug 6
Sat. Aug 7
Sun. Aug 8
Mon. Aug 9
Thu. Aug 12
Fri. Aug 13
Sat. Aug 14
Sun. Aug 15
Mon. Aug 16
Thu. Aug 19
Fri. Aug 20
Sat. Aug 21
Sun. Aug 22
Mon. Aug 23
Thu. Aug 26
Fri. Aug 27
Sat. Aug 28
Sun. Aug 29
Mon. Aug 30

Thursday, August 05

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Friday, August 06

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Saturday, August 07

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Sunday, August 08

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Monday, August 09

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Thursday, August 12

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Friday, August 13

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Saturday, August 14

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Sunday, August 15

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Monday, August 16

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Thursday, August 19

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Friday, August 20

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Saturday, August 21

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Sunday, August 22

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Monday, August 23

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Thursday, August 26

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Friday, August 27

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Saturday, August 28

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Sunday, August 29

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Monday, August 30

OMNIMAX: Volcanoes: The Fires of Creation
12:00 pm

Behind The Scenes

THE VOLCANOES EDUCATOR GUIDE

Created by Discovery Place Education Studio in Charlotte, North Carolina, in partnership with SK Films, is appropriate for students in the primary grades (K–8). The guide is most useful when used as a companion to the film, but also valuable as a resource on its own. Teachers are strongly encouraged to adapt activities included in this guide to support specific state or national standards and the needs of their students. Activities developed for this guide support national Common Core math standards and the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS). This guide focuses on the
scientific understanding of geological process, human interactions with volcanoes, and career understandings of scientists who work in the field. It is packed full of fun and engaging activities that have been tested and approved by teachers and kids in a classroom setting. At the end of the guide, teachers can find additional resources to assist with cross-curricular planning.

Volcanoes explores Earth’s most dangerous features. The film begins with a trip down a volcanic caldera with National Geographic photographer Carsten Peter. His team works together to keep themselves safe as they camp on the rim of the active Marum Crater. The film then follows the team as they lead expeditions to volcanoes all over the globe.

Download Now

Location

OMNIMAX Theater films take place in the OMNIMAX Theater on the 2nd floor of the main 5050 Oakland Building. Access is available through the main entrance, then the stairs in the main lobby to the second floor.

Visit
Members watch at a discount.

Save on your OMNIMAX ticket with a Saint Louis Science Center membership.

Become a Member

Accessibility

Convenient wheelchair accessible seating for the OMNIMAX is available via the third floor theater entrance. Elevators and ramps serve all public areas of the OMNIMAX.

OMNIMAX offers hearing assistance that is not available in any theater in the region. This includes new adjustable caption devices, new hearing assistance devices with Descriptive Video Services(DVS) and Telecoil. When ordering tickets, please let your reservationist know you’re interested in these items, or see an usher before your film begins.

More About Accessibility