Live Sky Tonight

About

Your Sky…TONIGHT

Relax under the clearest night sky in St. Louis as our skilled presenters lead you on tour of the best the night has to offer. This live show is different every time, so stop back again to discover the changing stars, planets, and other celestial events visible from your own backyard.

Average Show Length: 40-45 minutes

Buy Tickets Now

Members can get their free tickets to the Planetarium by logging in online.

Members Online Ticket Login

Overview

Experience The Night

The sky overhead is always changing, and so is our show! Relax under the largest artificial sky in the Western Hemisphere, and we guarantee you will always see something new.

This live show will explore:

  • The stars and constellations currently visible above St. Louis
  • Location and characteristics of visible planets
  • Current and upcoming celestial phenomena like meteor showers, planetary conjunctions, and comets
  • Current events and space news

Teachers: This show is recommended for all ages and can be tailored to fit a particular age group.

Buy Tickets Now

Members can get their free tickets to the Planetarium by logging in online.

Members Online Ticket Login

Star Show Pricing

This is a paid experience.

Ages

Price
Members FREE*
Children (ages 2-12) $5
Adults (ages 13-59) $6
Seniors (ages 60+) $5
Military $4

Groups (10 or more): $5 for school groups, $5 for all other groups

Group Visit Information

Up to 8 Free tickets every day based on membership level
Become a Member

Star Dates Hero

SHOWTIMES

Mon. Nov 29
Thu. Dec 2
Fri. Dec 3
Sat. Dec 4
Sun. Dec 5
Mon. Dec 6
Thu. Dec 9
Fri. Dec 10
Sat. Dec 11
Sun. Dec 12
Mon. Dec 13
Thu. Dec 16
Fri. Dec 17
Sat. Dec 18
Sun. Dec 19
Mon. Dec 20
Tue. Dec 21
Wed. Dec 22
Thu. Dec 23

Monday, November 29

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Thursday, December 02

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Friday, December 03

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Saturday, December 04

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Sunday, December 05

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Monday, December 06

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am

Thursday, December 09

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Friday, December 10

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Saturday, December 11

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Sunday, December 12

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Monday, December 13

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Thursday, December 16

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Friday, December 17

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Saturday, December 18

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am

Sunday, December 19

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Monday, December 20

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Tuesday, December 21

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Wednesday, December 22

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Thursday, December 23

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm
Location

The Planetarium Entrance in Forest Park is currently closed. Please park and enter at 5050 Oakland Avenue.

Star Shows take place in the Star Bay, the 2nd floor, of the Planetarium. Access is available through the stairs or elevator from the main Planetarium lobby.

Due to the dark nature of the planetarium, late admittance or reentry is not permitted. Please arrive on time for your Star Show.

Membership

Members stargaze for free.

Love the Planetarium? Become a Science Center member and watch star shows for free with every visit, as well as get a full year of additional members-only benefits.

Plus, members help support the Science Center and our mission to make science learning open to everyone.

Become a Member

Accessibility

Elevators and ramps serve all public areas of the McDonnell Planetarium.

We also offer hearing assist devices for Planetarium star shows. When ordering tickets, please let your reservationist know you’re interested in a hearing assist device, or speak with a Planetarium team member before your program begins.

With advance notice, the Planetarium offers Feeling the Stars, a custom tactile program for visitors with vision impairments that pairs with The Little Star That Could.

More About Accessibility