Live Sky Tonight

About

Your Sky…TONIGHT

Relax under the clearest night sky in St. Louis as our skilled presenters lead you on tour of the best the night has to offer. This live show is different every time, so stop back again to discover the changing stars, planets, and other celestial events visible from your own backyard.

Average Show Length: 40-45 minutes

Buy Tickets Now

Members can get their free tickets to the Planetarium by logging in online.

Members Online Ticket Login


Summer Value Passes have returned!

OPTION 1: $12.95
OMNIMAX® Theater Show
Planetarium Show
OPTION 2: $22.95
OMNIMAX® Theater Show
Mummies of the World: The Exhibition
OPTION 3: $27.95
OMNIMAX® Theater Show
Planetarium Show
Mummies of the World: The Exhibition

Up to 30% savings!

Package includes one entry to each experience. Good for all films and shows except for feature films and laser shows.
Cannot be combined with other offers. Price is the same for all ages.
Available on site only!


Overview

Experience The Night

The sky overhead is always changing, and so is our show! Relax under the largest artificial sky in the Western Hemisphere, and we guarantee you will always see something new.

This live show will explore:

  • The stars and constellations currently visible above St. Louis
  • Location and characteristics of visible planets
  • Current and upcoming celestial phenomena like meteor showers, planetary conjunctions, and comets
  • Current events and space news

Teachers: This show is recommended for all ages and can be tailored to fit a particular age group.

Buy Tickets Now

Members can get their free tickets to the Planetarium by logging in online.

Members Online Ticket Login

Star Show Pricing

This is a paid experience.

Ages

Price
Members FREE*
Children (ages 2-12) $5
Adults (ages 13-59) $6
Seniors (ages 60+) $5
Military $4

Groups (10 or more): $5 for school groups, $5 for all other groups

Group Visit Information

Up to 8 Free tickets every day based on membership level
Become a Member

Star Dates Hero

SHOWTIMES

Sun. Aug 1
Mon. Aug 2
Thu. Aug 5
Fri. Aug 6
Sat. Aug 7
Sun. Aug 8
Mon. Aug 9
Thu. Aug 12
Fri. Aug 13
Sat. Aug 14
Sun. Aug 15
Mon. Aug 16
Thu. Aug 19
Fri. Aug 20
Sat. Aug 21
Sun. Aug 22
Mon. Aug 23
Thu. Aug 26
Fri. Aug 27
Sat. Aug 28
Sun. Aug 29
Mon. Aug 30

Sunday, August 01

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Monday, August 02

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Thursday, August 05

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Friday, August 06

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Saturday, August 07

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Sunday, August 08

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Monday, August 09

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Thursday, August 12

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Friday, August 13

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Saturday, August 14

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Sunday, August 15

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Monday, August 16

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Thursday, August 19

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Friday, August 20

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Saturday, August 21

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Sunday, August 22

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Monday, August 23

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Thursday, August 26

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Friday, August 27

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Saturday, August 28

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Sunday, August 29

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm

Monday, August 30

Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky Tonight
11:30 am
3:15 pm
Location

Star Shows take place in the Star Bay, the 2nd floor, of the Planetarium. Access is available through the stairs or elevator from the main Planetarium lobby.

Membership

Members stargaze for free.

Love the Planetarium? Become a Science Center member and watch star shows for free with every visit, as well as get a full year of additional members-only benefits.

Plus, members help support the Science Center and our mission to make science learning open to everyone.

Become a Member

Accessibility

Elevators and ramps serve all public areas of the McDonnell Planetarium.

We also offer hearing assist devices for Planetarium star shows. When ordering tickets, please let your reservationist know you’re interested in a hearing assist device, or speak with a Planetarium team member before your program begins.

With advance notice, the Planetarium offers Feeling the Stars, a custom tactile program for visitors with vision impairments that pairs with The Little Star That Could.

More About Accessibility