D-Day: Normandy 1944

Back for a limited time from May 24 – June 20

Seventy-five years ago, a historic landing changed the world. June 6, 1944, was the largest Allied operation of World War II began in Normandy, France. Audiences of all ages will discover a new perspective in breathtaking IMAX 70 mm film how this landing changed the world.


Get Tickets Now

Same-day tickets for OMNIMAX films are available online, at the Science Center, or by calling our box office at 314.289.4400. Feature films may have special pricing. Discounts are available for groups of 10 or more.
Price

This is a paid experience.

Children (ages 2-12): $9
Adults (ages 13-59): $10
Seniors (ages 60+): $9
College Students with ID: $9
Military: $7
Members: Free tickets based on membership level

Synopsis

A NEW PERSPECTIVE ON D-DAY AND THE BATTLE OF NORMANDY

June 6, 1944: The largest Allied operation of World War II began in Normandy, France. Yet, few know in detail exactly why and how, from the end of 1943 through August 1944, this region became the most important location in the world.

Blending multiple cinematographic techniques, including animation, CGI and stunning live-action images, “D-Day: Normandy 1944” brings this monumental event to the world’s largest screens for the first time ever.

Audiences of all ages, including new generations, will discover from a new perspective how this landing changed the world.

Exploring history, military strategy, science, technology and human values, the film will educate and appeal to all.

Narrated by Tom Brokaw, “D-Day: Normandy 1944” pays tribute to those who gave their lives for our freedom…

A duty of memory, a duty of gratitude.

Why?
THE IMPORTANCE OF OPERATION OVERLORD

In May 1943, to counter Hitler and the Axis forces, the Allies decide to open a Second Front on the western side of Europe. The Allied forces, led by General Eisenhower, have just months to organize the operation, code-named “Overlord,” that will break Hitler’s Atlantic Wall fortress and lead to the battle of Normandy.

How?
A GIGANTIC PREPARATION, A WELL KEPT SECRET

Following significant industrial growth, the US and their allies will, in a very short time, succeed in assembling millions of soldiers in southern England, as well as thousands of boats and planes alongside millions of tons of supplies in preparation for the landing on the beaches of Normandy. The choice of location was kept a secret from the Nazis by tricking them through disinformation operations.

Where & When?
D-DAY: BREAKING THE ATLANTIC WALL

Taking advantage of a small window of opportunity, the great offensive armada goes to sea on June 5th, 1944. At dawn on June 6th, D-Day, the landings begin, with over 150,000 men on the first assault. Despite heavy losses, the landing is a success and, by the evening, the Allied forces have breached the Atlantic Wall.

At What Price?
THE BATTLE OF NORMANDY

Following the successful landing, the battle of Normandy begins. Military and civilian casualties run into the tens of thousands but, after fierce fighting, by August the battle of Normandy finally ends. The Allied troops liberate Paris on August 25th.

The Legacy
PEACE & LIBERTY, A PRECIOUS HERITAGE WORTH PROTECTING

Thanks to “Overlord” the course of WWII swings back in favor of the Allies. But it will take another year to defeat Nazi tyranny and restore Peace and Liberty in the world.

As the number of WWII veterans dwindles, it is important to remember British Prime Minister Winston Churchill’s words: “Never in the field of human conflict was so much owed by so many to so few.”

Showtimes

Fri. May 24
Sat. May 25
Sun. May 26
Mon. May 27
Tue. May 28
Wed. May 29
Fri. May 31
Sat. Jun 1
Sun. Jun 2
Mon. Jun 3
Tue. Jun 4
Wed. Jun 5
Thu. Jun 6
Fri. Jun 7
Sat. Jun 8
Sun. Jun 9
Mon. Jun 10
Tue. Jun 11
Wed. Jun 12
Thu. Jun 13
Fri. Jun 14
Sat. Jun 15
Sun. Jun 16
Mon. Jun 17
Tue. Jun 18
Wed. Jun 19
Thu. Jun 20

Friday, May 24

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Saturday, May 25

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Sunday, May 26

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Monday, May 27

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Tuesday, May 28

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Wednesday, May 29

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Friday, May 31

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Saturday, June 01

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Sunday, June 02

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Monday, June 03

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Tuesday, June 04

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Wednesday, June 05

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Thursday, June 06

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Friday, June 07

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Saturday, June 08

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Sunday, June 09

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Monday, June 10

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Tuesday, June 11

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Wednesday, June 12

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Thursday, June 13

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Friday, June 14

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Saturday, June 15

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Sunday, June 16

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Monday, June 17

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Tuesday, June 18

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Wednesday, June 19

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm

Thursday, June 20

D-Day: Normandy 1944
1:00 pm
Visit
Members watch for FREE!

Get your OMNIMAX ticket FREE with a Saint Louis Science Center membership.

Become a Member

Accessibility

Convenient wheelchair accessible seating for the OMNIMAX is available via the 3rd floor theater entrance. Elevators and ramps serve all public areas of the OMNIMAX.

OMNIMAX offers the Rear Window® captioning service for all films at all showtimes, unless otherwise noted. Assisted listening devices are also available. When ordering tickets, please let your reservationist know you’re interested in Rear Window captioning, or see an usher before your film begins.

More About Accessibility