GROW

About

Dig in and learn about agriculture.

Explore the science behind one of the most important parts of life: our food. Where does it come from? How does it grow? How far does it travel to get to us? And how can each of us ensure that everyone has delicious, nutritious food to eat? You’ll find the answers to these questions and so much more in GROW – the largest U.S. gallery of its kind focused solely on agriculture.


Free
Price

Admission to GROW is free, although some activities are ticketed.

Tractor Run
Children: $2 per 4-minute ride
This ride is weather dependent and available only on the weekends. Tickets for the Tractor Run are available at the Science Center. Call our box office at 314.289.4400 for more information.

  • 28 Day time lapse of lettuce growing in the MARSfarm food computer.

The Grounds

Experience GROW

GROW is a 5,000-square-foot pavilion and an acre of beautiful outdoor space. In the GROW Pavilion and Gallery, not only will you learn about your food’s journey from farm to table, you’ll learn the scientific processes that turn seeds into towering plants. Discover the story of agriculture and the many ways technology is shaping the agricultural landscape.

GROW greenhouse

What is Kohlrabi?

In GROW we are often asked about the funny looking and hard to pronounce vegetable called “kohlrabi”. Kohlrabi is from the German word “kohl” which means cabbage and “rabi” which means turnip.

Learn more about Kohlrabi

What’s happening in GROW

Wed. Dec 11
Thu. Dec 12
Fri. Dec 13
Sat. Dec 14
Sun. Dec 15
Mon. Dec 16
Tue. Dec 17
Wed. Dec 18
Thu. Dec 19
Fri. Dec 20
Sat. Dec 21
Sun. Dec 22
Mon. Dec 23
Tue. Dec 24
Thu. Dec 26
Fri. Dec 27
Sat. Dec 28
Sun. Dec 29
Mon. Dec 30
Tue. Dec 31
Wed. Jan 1
Thu. Jan 2
Fri. Jan 3
Sat. Jan 4
Sun. Jan 5
Mon. Jan 6
Tue. Jan 7
Wed. Jan 8
Thu. Jan 9
Fri. Jan 10
Sat. Jan 11
Sun. Jan 12
Mon. Jan 13
Tue. Jan 14
Wed. Jan 15
Thu. Jan 16
Fri. Jan 17
Sat. Jan 18
Sun. Jan 19
Mon. Jan 20
Tue. Jan 21
Wed. Jan 22
Thu. Jan 23
Fri. Jan 24
Sat. Jan 25
Sun. Jan 26
Mon. Jan 27
Tue. Jan 28
Wed. Jan 29
Thu. Jan 30
Fri. Jan 31

Wednesday, December 11

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Thursday, December 12

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Friday, December 13

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Saturday, December 14

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Sunday, December 15

Chicken Chat in GROW
1:00 pm
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Monday, December 16

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Tuesday, December 17

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Wednesday, December 18

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Thursday, December 19

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Friday, December 20

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Saturday, December 21

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Sunday, December 22

Chicken Chat in GROW
1:00 pm
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Monday, December 23

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Tuesday, December 24

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm

Thursday, December 26

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Friday, December 27

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Saturday, December 28

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Sunday, December 29

Chicken Chat in GROW
1:00 pm
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Monday, December 30

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Tuesday, December 31

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Wednesday, January 01

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Thursday, January 02

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Friday, January 03

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Saturday, January 04

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Sunday, January 05

Chicken Chat in GROW
1:00 pm
1:00 pm
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Monday, January 06

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Tuesday, January 07

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Wednesday, January 08

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Thursday, January 09

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Friday, January 10

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Saturday, January 11

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Sunday, January 12

Chicken Chat in GROW
1:00 pm
1:00 pm
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Monday, January 13

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Tuesday, January 14

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Wednesday, January 15

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Thursday, January 16

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Friday, January 17

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Saturday, January 18

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Sunday, January 19

Chicken Chat in GROW
1:00 pm
1:00 pm
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Monday, January 20

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Tuesday, January 21

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Wednesday, January 22

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Thursday, January 23

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Friday, January 24

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Saturday, January 25

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Sunday, January 26

Chicken Chat in GROW
1:00 pm
1:00 pm
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Monday, January 27

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Tuesday, January 28

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Wednesday, January 29

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Thursday, January 30

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Friday, January 31

Chicken Chat in GROW
11:00 am
11:00 am
GROW combine
Combine Demo
2:00 pm
GROW greenhouse
Fish Feeding in GROW
3:30 pm

Activities

Gallery Features

Many gallery features and activities are weather- and season-dependent.

GROW Pavilion

Trace the steps of your food from the farm to the table – and everywhere in between. This award-winning indoor area features exhibits, educational programs and planned events that explore farming and its vital role in today’s complex local and global economies. Visit our seed display, view a stunning display of soil monoliths from every state in the United States, and check out the amazing glulam beams used to build the Pavilion.

MARSfarm Food Computer

MARSfarm works to inspire students’ interest in space travel and the future of farming through the use of Food Computer kits paired with Mars-centric STEM curriculum. Our kits and curriculum enable hands on learning about everything from plant physiology to computer science.

A food computer contains a plant growing area and a computer that controls operations like the amount of light and temperature. The computer is programmed to take measurements. Food computers like ours use hydroponics to grow the plants. Hydroponic means the plants grow in water instead of soil. To feed the plants, growers add nutrients into the water.

Bi-State AG Map

The adventure begins at home. Dig into the agricultural products and processes of Missouri and Illinois and learn where your food comes from.

Water Works

Water plays a vital role in agriculture, as well as our lives. While the kids play in this interactive water area, check out the nearby rain gardens and permeable pavement. Learn how we use this very important resource in farming and in our everyday lives.

Botany Basics at the Giant Sunflower

Explore the inner workings of plants and discover how they harvest the Sun’s energy to grow and support all life on Earth. Check out the native plantings and learn how plants spread and grow.

Animal Corral

Plants aren’t the only source of food you can find on farms. Take a tour through the Animal Corral and simulated milking, understand the digestive processes of livestock, and learn how farmers manage feed conversion. On select days, local farmers visit and bring animals to visit. Past animal visitors have included dairy cows, goats, sheep, rabbits, alpaca, ostrich and baby pigs.

Farm Tech Field

Get your hands on today’s farming tools, from our huge combine to modern innovations like drones, environmental sensors, and our very own GROW BOT on select days. See our crops and learn how modern equipment, science and technology all are used on the farms of today— and tomorrow.

Greenhouse

Agricultural growth isn’t always open fields and gigantic tractors. Many urban areas are demonstrating ways to grow specialty food crops like lettuce, kale and tomatoes indoors using aquaponic, hydroponic, and aeroponic systems. Visit our aquaponics demonstration on select days to see one way food can be grown indoors using fish. See example of current technologies utilized in indoor growing facilities and check out our very own FarmBot, exemplifying principles of open source agriculture.

Fermentation Station

Visit the Fermentation Station (open seasonally) to purchase refreshments like beer, wine, kombucha, as well as more substantial offerings like burgers from the on-site burger bar, sausage, and cheese and fruit plates. While you’re visiting, check out the grape vines that encircle the space.

Meet the Farmers

Meet the farmers who grow our food and raise our animals through interactive exhibits and visits from farmers. Be sure to check our calendar and social media for guests and announcements.

Tractor Run

Introduce your children to life on the farm with Tractor Run at GROW. Kids can take the wheel of a mini-tractor and ride around our fun, farm-inspired track. Tickets are available at the Science Center. Call our box office at 314.289.4400 for more information. Children: $2 per 4-minute ride.

The Tractor Run is available daily from 10:00 am to 3:00 pm, weather permitting until Labor Day.

Chicken Coop

Hear the story behind the egg. Learn all about our chicken flock and even feed our chickens a “snack” during our Chicken Chats held daily at the chicken coop. Learn what you need to start raising your own birds, or even about how humans have shaped the genetics of birds through selective breeding.

Homegrown

It’s time to roll up your sleeves and get to work. Visit the homeGROWn area for ideas about how to start your own edible plot. See specialty food crops like beans, garlic, peppers, and squash up close and visit with our staff and volunteers for tips on growing. Visit our compost area and learn how to turn food scraps into fertilizer.

Sponsors

Visit
Grow Programs for Groups

The Science Center offers a wide variety of agriculture-themed educational programs and tours tailored to specific groups and audiences.

Program Guide

Groups & Field Trips

Accessibility

GROW is accessible to visitors with disabilities, as well as visitors with strollers, scooters, and walkers. Elevators and ramps serve all public areas.

More About Accessibility