Gateway to the Solar System

About

Our gateway to the solar system is your own backyard!

Exploring the solar system – and worlds beyond our own – is not science fiction. Gateway to the Solar System empowers audience members to discover planets, moons, and more by simply looking up.

Come discover your Gateway to the Solar System in this live Star Show!

Average Show Length: 40-45 minutes

Buy Tickets Now

Welcome back to your science center. To our guests, members and donors, learn about how you can Explore Safe here.

This live show includes:

    • What a solar system is
    • Observations that people through the ages have made using the nighttime sky
    • Discoveries within of our solar system and of new solar systems
    • Where to find planets and other objects in the St. Louis sky
    • Past, present, and future planetary phenomena

Buy Tickets Now

Showtimes

Mon. Oct 26
Thu. Oct 29
Fri. Oct 30
Sat. Oct 31
Sun. Nov 1
Mon. Nov 2
Thu. Nov 5
Fri. Nov 6
Sat. Nov 7
Sun. Nov 8
Mon. Nov 9
Thu. Nov 12

Monday, October 26

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Thursday, October 29

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Friday, October 30

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Saturday, October 31

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Sunday, November 01

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Monday, November 02

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Thursday, November 05

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Friday, November 06

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Saturday, November 07

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Sunday, November 08

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Monday, November 09

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Thursday, November 12

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Did we find life on Venus?

Scientists may be getting warmer in the search for life in the cosmos. Research released on September 14, 2020 in the journal of Nature Astronomy suggests the discovery of phosphine gas in the atmosphere of Venus – a possible signature of microbial life on our planetary neighbor.

While an exciting discovery, much is still unknown about Venus and further research is necessary to determine the true cause of these phosphine gas concentrations.

Learn more

Star Show Pricing

This is a paid experience.

Ages

Price
Members FREE*
Children (ages 2-12) $5
Adults (ages 13-59) $6
Seniors (ages 60+) $5
Military $4

Groups (10 or more): $5 for school groups, $5 for all other groups

Group Visit Information

Up to 8 Free tickets every day based on membership level
Become a Member

Location

Star Shows take place in the Star Bay, the 2nd floor, of the Planetarium. Access is available through the stairs or elevator from the main Planetarium lobby.

Membership

Members stargaze for free.

Love the Planetarium? Become a Science Center member and watch star shows for free with every visit, as well as get a full year of additional members-only benefits.

Plus, members help support the Science Center and our mission to make science learning open to everyone.

Become a Member

Accessibility

Elevators and ramps serve all public areas of the McDonnell Planetarium.

We also offer hearing assist devices for Planetarium star shows. When ordering tickets, please let your reservationist know you’re interested in a hearing assist device, or speak with a Planetarium team member before your program begins.

More About Accessibility