Gateway to the Solar System

About

Our gateway to the solar system is your own backyard!

Exploring the solar system – and worlds beyond our own – is not science fiction. Gateway to the Solar System empowers audience members to discover planets, moons, and more by simply looking up.

Come discover your Gateway to the Solar System in this live Star Show!

Average Show Length: 40-45 minutes

Buy Tickets Now

Members can get their free tickets to the Planetarium by logging in online.

Members Online Ticket Login

 

This live show includes:

    • What a solar system is
    • Observations that people through the ages have made using the nighttime sky
    • Discoveries within our solar system and of new solar systems
    • Where to find planets and other objects in the St. Louis sky
    • Past, present, and future planetary phenomena

Buy Tickets Now

Members can get their free tickets to the Planetarium by logging in online.

Members Online Ticket Login

Showtimes

Mon. Nov 29
Thu. Dec 2
Fri. Dec 3
Sat. Dec 4
Sun. Dec 5
Mon. Dec 6
Thu. Dec 9
Fri. Dec 10
Sat. Dec 11
Sun. Dec 12
Mon. Dec 13
Thu. Dec 16
Fri. Dec 17
Sat. Dec 18
Sun. Dec 19
Mon. Dec 20
Tue. Dec 21
Wed. Dec 22
Thu. Dec 23

Monday, November 29

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
2:00 pm

Thursday, December 02

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
2:00 pm

Friday, December 03

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
2:00 pm

Saturday, December 04

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
2:00 pm

Sunday, December 05

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
2:00 pm

Monday, December 06

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
2:00 pm

Thursday, December 09

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
2:00 pm

Friday, December 10

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
2:00 pm

Saturday, December 11

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
2:00 pm

Sunday, December 12

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
2:00 pm

Monday, December 13

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
2:00 pm

Thursday, December 16

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
2:00 pm

Friday, December 17

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
2:00 pm

Saturday, December 18

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
2:00 pm

Sunday, December 19

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
2:00 pm

Monday, December 20

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
2:00 pm

Tuesday, December 21

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
2:00 pm

Wednesday, December 22

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
2:00 pm

Thursday, December 23

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
2:00 pm

Where are the Planets tonight?

Several planets of our solar system are easily visible on most nights. Find out where the Planets are this week and other upcoming celestial sights in the Planetarium’s Night Sky Update!

Learn more

Star Show Pricing

This is a paid experience.

Ages

Price
Members FREE*
Children (ages 2-12) $5
Adults (ages 13-59) $6
Seniors (ages 60+) $5
Military $4

Groups (10 or more): $5 for school groups, $5 for all other groups

Group Visit Information

Up to 8 Free tickets every day based on membership level
Become a Member

Location

The Planetarium Entrance in Forest Park is currently closed. Please park and enter at 5050 Oakland Avenue.

Star Shows take place in the Star Bay, the 2nd floor, of the Planetarium. Access is available through the stairs or elevator from the main Planetarium lobby.

Due to the dark nature of the planetarium, late admittance or reentry is not permitted. Please arrive on time for your Star Show.

Membership

Members stargaze for free.

Love the Planetarium? Become a Science Center member and watch star shows for free with every visit, as well as get a full year of additional members-only benefits.

Plus, members help support the Science Center and our mission to make science learning open to everyone.

Become a Member

Accessibility

Elevators and ramps serve all public areas of the McDonnell Planetarium.

We also offer hearing assist devices for Planetarium star shows. When ordering tickets, please let your reservationist know you’re interested in a hearing assist device, or speak with a Planetarium team member before your program begins.

More About Accessibility