Gateway to the Solar System

About

Our gateway to the solar system is your own backyard!

Exploring the solar system – and worlds beyond our own – is not science fiction. Gateway to the Solar System empowers audience members to discover planets, moons, and more by simply looking up.

Come discover your Gateway to the Solar System in this live Star Show!

Average Show Length: 40-45 minutes

Buy Tickets Now

Welcome back to your science center. To our guests, members and donors, learn about how you can Explore Safe here.

This live show includes:

    • What a solar system is
    • Observations that people through the ages have made using the nighttime sky
    • Discoveries within our solar system and of new solar systems
    • Where to find planets and other objects in the St. Louis sky
    • Past, present, and future planetary phenomena

Buy Tickets Now

Showtimes

Thu. Mar 4
Fri. Mar 5
Sat. Mar 6
Sun. Mar 7
Mon. Mar 8
Thu. Mar 11
Fri. Mar 12
Sat. Mar 13
Sun. Mar 14
Mon. Mar 15
Thu. Mar 18
Fri. Mar 19
Sat. Mar 20
Sun. Mar 21
Mon. Mar 22
Thu. Mar 25
Fri. Mar 26
Sat. Mar 27
Sun. Mar 28
Mon. Mar 29
Thu. Apr 1

Thursday, March 04

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Friday, March 05

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Saturday, March 06

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Sunday, March 07

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Monday, March 08

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Thursday, March 11

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Friday, March 12

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Saturday, March 13

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Sunday, March 14

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Monday, March 15

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Thursday, March 18

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Friday, March 19

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Saturday, March 20

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Sunday, March 21

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Monday, March 22

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Thursday, March 25

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Friday, March 26

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Saturday, March 27

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Sunday, March 28

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Monday, March 29

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Thursday, April 01

Planetarium: Gateway to the Solar System
12:45 pm

Did we find life on Venus?

Scientists may be getting warmer in the search for life in the cosmos. Research released on September 14, 2020 in the journal of Nature Astronomy suggests the discovery of phosphine gas in the atmosphere of Venus – a possible signature of microbial life on our planetary neighbor.

While an exciting discovery, much is still unknown about Venus and further research is necessary to determine the true cause of these phosphine gas concentrations.

Learn more

Star Show Pricing

This is a paid experience.

Ages

Price
Members FREE*
Children (ages 2-12) $5
Adults (ages 13-59) $6
Seniors (ages 60+) $5
Military $4
Combo (1 Planetarium ticket & 1 OMNIMAX Ticket*)
*Available for purchase at the box office only.
$13.95

Groups (10 or more): $5 for school groups, $5 for all other groups

Group Visit Information

Up to 8 Free tickets every day based on membership level
Become a Member

Location

Star Shows take place in the Star Bay, the 2nd floor, of the Planetarium. Access is available through the stairs or elevator from the main Planetarium lobby.

Membership

Members stargaze for free.

Love the Planetarium? Become a Science Center member and watch star shows for free with every visit, as well as get a full year of additional members-only benefits.

Plus, members help support the Science Center and our mission to make science learning open to everyone.

Become a Member

Accessibility

Elevators and ramps serve all public areas of the McDonnell Planetarium.

We also offer hearing assist devices for Planetarium star shows. When ordering tickets, please let your reservationist know you’re interested in a hearing assist device, or speak with a Planetarium team member before your program begins.

More About Accessibility