Planetarium Shows

Experience a beautiful, realistic, simulated night on our 24-meter dome.

Come visit the James S. McDonnell Planetarium and see a star show featuring our ZEISS UNIVERSARIUM Model IX projector, the first and only in the Americas to use brilliant, sustainable LEDs. Shows are hourly on the half hour and include a 30-minute Planetarium show in the Orthwein StarBay and a self-guided tour of the Boeing Space Station after the show.

Price

This is a paid experience.

Adults (ages 13-59): $6
Children (ages 2-12) / Seniors (ages 60+): $5
Military: $4
Members: Free

Flight Pass

Up to 30% Savings

1 Virtual Reality Transporter Ticket
1 Motion Simulator or 1 360 Flight Simulator Ride
1 Planetarium Star Show Ticket
$17.95

Flight Passes are available at the Science Center or over the phone. Call us at 314.289.4400 to reserve your passes or purchase them at our Box Office in the main lobby or Planetarium lobby today.

Offer available only until November 28, 2019
Planetarium SHows

Current Star Show Schedule

Shows are subject to change. Please call ahead at 314.289.4400 to confirm show availability during the times listed.

Thu. Oct 17
Fri. Oct 18
Sat. Oct 19
Sun. Oct 20
Mon. Oct 21
Tue. Oct 22
Wed. Oct 23
Thu. Oct 24
Fri. Oct 25
Sat. Oct 26
Sun. Oct 27
Mon. Oct 28
Tue. Oct 29
Wed. Oct 30
Thu. Oct 31
Fri. Nov 1
Sat. Nov 2
Sun. Nov 3
Mon. Nov 4
Tue. Nov 5
Wed. Nov 6
Thu. Nov 7
Fri. Nov 8
Sat. Nov 9
Sun. Nov 10
Mon. Nov 11
Tue. Nov 12
Wed. Nov 13
Thu. Nov 14
Fri. Nov 15
Sat. Nov 16
Sun. Nov 17
Mon. Nov 18
Tue. Nov 19
Wed. Nov 20
Thu. Nov 21
Fri. Nov 22
Sat. Nov 23
Sun. Nov 24
Mon. Nov 25
Tue. Nov 26
Wed. Nov 27
Fri. Nov 29
Sat. Nov 30

Thursday, October 17

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am

Friday, October 18

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
10:30 am

Saturday, October 19

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
12:30 pm

Sunday, October 20

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
12:30 pm

Monday, October 21

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
10:30 am

Tuesday, October 22

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am

Wednesday, October 23

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am

Thursday, October 24

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am

Friday, October 25

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
10:30 am

Saturday, October 26

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
12:30 pm

Sunday, October 27

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
12:30 pm

Monday, October 28

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
10:30 am

Tuesday, October 29

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am

Wednesday, October 30

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
10:30 am

Thursday, October 31

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am

Friday, November 01

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
10:30 am

Saturday, November 02

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
12:30 pm

Sunday, November 03

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
12:30 pm

Monday, November 04

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
10:30 am

Tuesday, November 05

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am

Wednesday, November 06

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am

Thursday, November 07

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am

Friday, November 08

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
10:30 am

Saturday, November 09

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
12:30 pm

Sunday, November 10

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
12:30 pm

Monday, November 11

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
10:30 am

Tuesday, November 12

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: Mission Mars
11:30 am
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am

Wednesday, November 13

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am

Thursday, November 14

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am

Friday, November 15

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am

Saturday, November 16

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
12:30 pm

Sunday, November 17

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
12:30 pm

Monday, November 18

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
10:30 am

Tuesday, November 19

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: Mission Mars
11:30 am
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am

Wednesday, November 20

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
10:30 am

Thursday, November 21

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am

Friday, November 22

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
10:30 am

Saturday, November 23

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
12:30 pm

Sunday, November 24

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
12:30 pm

Monday, November 25

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
10:30 am

Tuesday, November 26

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: Mission Mars
11:30 am
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am

Wednesday, November 27

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
10:30 am

Friday, November 29

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
4:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
12:30 pm

Saturday, November 30

Planetarium: Live Sky: Moon
2:30 pm
Planetarium: Live Sky: The Constellations
1:30 pm
4:30 pm
Night Sky
Planetarium: Live Sky: Tonight
11:30 am
3:30 pm
The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:30 am
Planetarium: Campfire Star Stories
12:30 pm

Show Descriptions

Live Sky: Magnificent Moon

In this star show we will explore a few of the myths, phenomena, misconceptions and hoaxes related to the Moon and the Apollo Program to better understand our silent neighbor in space and to show how anyone can study and explore the Moon from our backyards. After the star show visitors can join Planetarium staff as they continue to explore concepts related to the Moon through demonstrations.

Live Sky: The Constellations

For ancient astronomers, the constellations were not only the products of scientific pursuits but often times also served as a means to understand their world and their very existence. Cultures around the world developed rich traditions seeped in astronomy that included their own interpretation of the constellations. Join us for this live presentation as we explore all about the constellations in our night skies.

The Little Star That Could

The story of an “average” star who travels the universe in search of planets. Along the way he makes many discoveries about stars, planets, galaxies and himself. We also offer Feeling the Stars, a version of The Little Star That Could adapted for children who are blind or have low vision. Please call 314.289.4400 for more information.

Live Sky: Tonight

See what is currently visible in the night sky including constellations, planets, the current Moon phase and any other special astronomical events such as meteor showers or comets, etc. We will also feature current space exploration such as the rovers on Mars.

Teachers: This show is recommended for all age groups and can be tailored to fit a particular age group.

Metals Moons

Born in a time of intense political intrigue, satellites have been circling the earth since the late 1950’s. Today’s world has become heavily dependent on these “metal moons” some of which are even visible from your own backyard! See “Metal Moons” today and learn more about artificial satellites and find out how you can actually spot some of them orbiting high overhead.

Live Sky: Mission Mars

People have been fascinated with Mars from the time humans began observing the planet thousands of years ago. Learn how observing the red planet has helped us develop a better understanding of solar system and our place with in it. See how humans have observed Mars through the aid of telescopes and robotic explorers and experience how future astronauts may view stars from a Mars base.

Campfire Star Stories

Developed for Young Learners, gather around the campfire and discover the many changes we see when day changes to night throughout the year. Hear the seasonal sounds of nature and see stars twinkle across the sky as the wonders of the Earth’s cycle are revealed.

Members stargaze for FREE!

Members can watch star shows for FREE every day at the Planetarium with a Saint Louis Science Center membership.

Become a Member

Accessibility

Elevators and ramps serve all public areas of the McDonnell Planetarium.

We also offer hearing assist devices for Planetarium star shows. When ordering tickets, please let your reservationist know you’re interested in a hearing assist device, or speak with a Planetarium team member before your program begins.

With advance notice, the Planetarium offers Feeling the Stars, a custom tactile program for visitors with vision impairments that pairs with The Little Star That Could.

More About Accessibility