Makerspace

About

Imagine, collaborate and create something awesome.

In 2019 Makerspace will be revamping its approach to education and community engagement. We are offering free workshops grounded in “high and low tech” with an emphasis in open ended learning. Visitors can expect free two hour sessions which will be hosted by a skilled member of our Maker staff.

Free
Price

This exhibit is free.

Call our box office at 314.289.4400 for more information.

Workshops are designed for families with children ages 7 and up.

Activities

What’s inside.

Air Ball

Play and experiment to learn how wind effects different objects. Then use the materials to create a game you can teach to someone else.

Float and Fly

Create an object using simple materials, then put it to the test and see if it flies. Once you’ve conquered the air, adapt your design and make it float.

Sail Race

Design a sail using Tinkertoys and fabric, then send it flying down the racetrack. Can you modify your sail to beat the best time of the day?

Ball Run

Assemble the magnetic pipes to get a ball from start to finish on one side of the ball run. Work as a team to try to get the ball around all four sides of the cube.

Rigamajig

Use everyday building materials like wood, screws, rope and brackets to create clever contraptions.

Workshops

Makerspace Workshops

Enjoy 2 hour sessions offered twice daily hosted by the Maker Team@reg;. Visitors are welcome to stay the full 2 hours or for 2 minutes.

April, May, June Workshops

Little Bits and Droids
Snap together these “bits” and create something amazing. Visitors will be able to build a contraption of their own design or even an R2D2 droid. Come to maker and learn the basics of robotics and coding.

Cardboard Workshop
What can’t you make with cardboard? We supply the materials and you bring your creativity.

Mount Goldberg
In this table top, Rube Goldberg workshop, create a crazy chain reaction to erupt a volcano. This activity is inspired by our new Omnimax film and exhibit; Pompei. So, come by the classroom and see if you can make a track to trigger an eruption.

Thematic learning objective:

Patrons will gain the basics to a wide range of program offerings and technical skills. This diverse approach to informal education/interpretation will direct participants into project based learning and cross generational collaboration.

April, May, June Workshop Times

Sunday To Saturday, 2:30 pm to 4:30 pm

Dates and times subject to change

Fri. Apr 26
Sat. Apr 27
Sun. Apr 28
Mon. Apr 29
Tue. Apr 30
Wed. May 1
Thu. May 2
Fri. May 3
Sat. May 4
Sun. May 5
Mon. May 6
Tue. May 7
Wed. May 8
Thu. May 9
Fri. May 10
Sat. May 11
Sun. May 12
Mon. May 13
Tue. May 14
Wed. May 15
Thu. May 16
Fri. May 17
Sat. May 18
Sun. May 19
Mon. May 20
Tue. May 21
Wed. May 22
Thu. May 23
Fri. May 24
Sat. May 25
Sun. May 26
Mon. May 27
Tue. May 28
Wed. May 29
Thu. May 30
Fri. May 31
Sat. Jun 1
Sun. Jun 2
Mon. Jun 3
Tue. Jun 4
Wed. Jun 5
Thu. Jun 6
Fri. Jun 7
Sat. Jun 8
Sun. Jun 9
Mon. Jun 10
Tue. Jun 11
Wed. Jun 12
Thu. Jun 13
Fri. Jun 14
Sat. Jun 15
Sun. Jun 16
Mon. Jun 17
Tue. Jun 18
Wed. Jun 19
Thu. Jun 20
Fri. Jun 21
Sat. Jun 22
Sun. Jun 23
Mon. Jun 24
Tue. Jun 25
Wed. Jun 26
Thu. Jun 27
Fri. Jun 28
Sat. Jun 29
Sun. Jun 30

Friday, April 26

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Saturday, April 27

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Sunday, April 28

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Monday, April 29

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Tuesday, April 30

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Wednesday, May 01

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Thursday, May 02

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Friday, May 03

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Saturday, May 04

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Sunday, May 05

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Monday, May 06

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Tuesday, May 07

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Wednesday, May 08

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Thursday, May 09

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Friday, May 10

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Saturday, May 11

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Sunday, May 12

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Monday, May 13

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Tuesday, May 14

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Wednesday, May 15

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Thursday, May 16

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Friday, May 17

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Saturday, May 18

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Sunday, May 19

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Monday, May 20

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Tuesday, May 21

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Wednesday, May 22

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Thursday, May 23

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Friday, May 24

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Saturday, May 25

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Sunday, May 26

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Monday, May 27

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Tuesday, May 28

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Wednesday, May 29

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Thursday, May 30

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Friday, May 31

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Saturday, June 01

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Sunday, June 02

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Monday, June 03

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Tuesday, June 04

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Wednesday, June 05

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Thursday, June 06

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Friday, June 07

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Saturday, June 08

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Sunday, June 09

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Monday, June 10

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Tuesday, June 11

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Wednesday, June 12

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Thursday, June 13

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Friday, June 14

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Saturday, June 15

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Sunday, June 16

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Monday, June 17

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Tuesday, June 18

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Wednesday, June 19

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Thursday, June 20

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Friday, June 21

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Saturday, June 22

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Sunday, June 23

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Monday, June 24

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Tuesday, June 25

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Wednesday, June 26

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Thursday, June 27

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Friday, June 28

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Saturday, June 29

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm

Sunday, June 30

Makerspace Artwork
Makerspace Workshop
2:30 pm
Visit
Makerspace Programs for Groups

The Science Center offers a wide variety of Makerspace programs tailored to specific groups and audiences.

Program Guide

Groups & Field Trips

Accessibility

Makerspace is accessible to visitors with disabilities, as well as visitors with strollers, scooters, and walkers. Elevators and ramps serve all public areas.

More About Accessibility