Makerspace

About

Imagine, collaborate and create something awesome.

Makerspace is an interactive community-oriented space where you can create and learn skills using a variety of tools and materials. Use your own creativity as you explore science, technology, and engineering principals! Get inspired to be a make. Play build, imagine, adapt, modify, work together and have fun.

Free
Price

This exhibit is free.

Call our box office at 314.289.4400 for more information.

Workshops are designed for families with children ages 7 and up.

Activities

What’s inside.

Mount Goldberg

In this tabletop Rube Goldberg workshop, create a crazy chain reaction to erupt a volcano. This activity is inspired by our exhibit; Pompeii. So, come by the classroom and see if you can make a track to trigger an eruption.

Sail Race

Design a sail using Tinkertoys and fabric, then send it flying down the racetrack. Can you modify your sail to beat the best time of the day?

Ball Run

Assemble the magnetic pipes to get a ball from start to finish on one side of the ball run. Work as a team to try to get the ball around all four sides of the cube.

Rigamajig

Use everyday building materials like wood, screws, rope and brackets to create clever contraptions.

Workshops

Makerspace Workshops

Enjoy 2 hour sessions offered each afternoon hosted by the Maker Team®. Visitors are welcome to stay the full 2 hours or for 2 minutes.

November and December Workshops

Scientific Illustration
Test your hand at a traditional form of recording observations. Draw various curiosities with some tools of the pros.

Laser Engraved Holiday Decorations*
Customize your own holiday decoration with LEDS and watch our Laser Engraver in action.

*December only
Thematic learning objective:

Patrons will gain the basics to a wide range of program offerings and technical skills. This diverse approach to informal education/interpretation will direct participants into project based learning and cross generational collaboration.

October and November Workshop Times

Everyday, 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Dates and times subject to change

Mon. Nov 18
Tue. Nov 19
Wed. Nov 20
Thu. Nov 21
Fri. Nov 22
Sat. Nov 23
Sun. Nov 24
Mon. Nov 25
Tue. Nov 26
Wed. Nov 27
Fri. Nov 29
Sat. Nov 30
Sun. Dec 1
Mon. Dec 2
Tue. Dec 3
Wed. Dec 4
Thu. Dec 5
Fri. Dec 6
Sat. Dec 7
Sun. Dec 8
Mon. Dec 9
Tue. Dec 10
Wed. Dec 11
Thu. Dec 12
Fri. Dec 13
Sat. Dec 14
Sun. Dec 15
Mon. Dec 16
Tue. Dec 17
Wed. Dec 18
Thu. Dec 19
Fri. Dec 20
Sat. Dec 21
Sun. Dec 22
Mon. Dec 23
Tue. Dec 24
Thu. Dec 26
Fri. Dec 27
Sat. Dec 28
Sun. Dec 29
Mon. Dec 30
Tue. Dec 31

Monday, November 18

Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Tuesday, November 19

Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Wednesday, November 20

Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Thursday, November 21

Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Friday, November 22

Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Saturday, November 23

Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Sunday, November 24

Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Monday, November 25

Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Tuesday, November 26

Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Wednesday, November 27

Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Friday, November 29

Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Saturday, November 30

Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Sunday, December 01

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Monday, December 02

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Tuesday, December 03

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Wednesday, December 04

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Thursday, December 05

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Friday, December 06

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Saturday, December 07

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Sunday, December 08

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Monday, December 09

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Tuesday, December 10

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Wednesday, December 11

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Thursday, December 12

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Friday, December 13

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Saturday, December 14

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Sunday, December 15

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Monday, December 16

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Tuesday, December 17

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Wednesday, December 18

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Thursday, December 19

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Friday, December 20

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Saturday, December 21

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Sunday, December 22

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Monday, December 23

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Tuesday, December 24

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Thursday, December 26

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Friday, December 27

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Saturday, December 28

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Sunday, December 29

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Monday, December 30

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm

Tuesday, December 31

Makerspace Exhibit Entrance
Makerspace Workshop
2:00 pm
Visit
Makerspace Programs for Groups

The Science Center offers a wide variety of Makerspace programs tailored to specific groups and audiences.

Groups & Field Trips

Accessibility

Makerspace is accessible to visitors with disabilities, as well as visitors with strollers, scooters, and walkers. Elevators and ramps serve all public areas.

More About Accessibility