The Little Star That Could

About

Sometimes, being average can also be special

A tradition in St. Louis for over 30 years! Developed for our youngest stargazers, experience the timeless story of an “average” star in search of what makes him special. Along his journey, we will discover the differences of stars, planets, and galaxies in the night sky.

Runtime: 35 minutes

Buy Tickets Now

Members can get their free tickets to the Planetarium by logging in online.

Members Online Ticket Login

Note: Not a live performance


Summer Value Passes have returned!

OPTION 1: $12.95
OMNIMAX® Theater Show
Planetarium Show
OPTION 2: $22.95
OMNIMAX® Theater Show
Mummies of the World: The Exhibition
OPTION 3: $27.95
OMNIMAX® Theater Show
Planetarium Show
Mummies of the World: The Exhibition

Up to 30% savings!

Package includes one entry to each experience. Good for all films and shows except for feature films and laser shows.
Cannot be combined with other offers. Price is the same for all ages.
Available on site only!


Overview

A Heartwarming Star

“The Little Star That Could” is a story about Little Star, an average yellow star in search for planets of his own to protect and warm. Along the way, he meets other stars, learns what makes each star special, and discovers that stars combine to form star clusters and galaxies. Eventually, Little Star is introduced to basic information about our Solar System.

This show is recommended for grades K-2.

Buy Tickets Now

Members can get their free tickets to the Planetarium by logging in online.

Members Online Ticket Login

Star Show Pricing

This is a paid experience.

Ages

Price
Members FREE*
Children (ages 2-12) $5
Adults (ages 13-59) $6
Seniors (ages 60+) $5
Military $4

Groups (10 or more): $5 for school groups, $5 for all other groups

Group Visit Information

Up to 8 Free tickets every day based on membership level
Become a Member

SHOWTIMES

Sun. Aug 1
Mon. Aug 2
Thu. Aug 5
Fri. Aug 6
Sat. Aug 7
Sun. Aug 8
Mon. Aug 9
Thu. Aug 12
Fri. Aug 13
Sat. Aug 14
Sun. Aug 15
Mon. Aug 16
Thu. Aug 19
Fri. Aug 20
Sat. Aug 21
Sun. Aug 22
Mon. Aug 23
Thu. Aug 26
Fri. Aug 27
Sat. Aug 28
Sun. Aug 29
Mon. Aug 30

Sunday, August 01

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Monday, August 02

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Thursday, August 05

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Friday, August 06

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Saturday, August 07

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Sunday, August 08

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Monday, August 09

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Thursday, August 12

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Friday, August 13

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Saturday, August 14

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Sunday, August 15

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Monday, August 16

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Thursday, August 19

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Friday, August 20

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Saturday, August 21

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Sunday, August 22

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Monday, August 23

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Thursday, August 26

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Friday, August 27

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Saturday, August 28

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Sunday, August 29

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am

Monday, August 30

The Little Star That Could
Planetarium: The Little Star That Could
10:15 am
Location

Star Shows take place in the Star Bay, the 2nd floor, of the Planetarium. Access is available through the stairs or elevator from the main Planetarium lobby.

Membership

Members stargaze for free.

Love the Planetarium? Become a Science Center member and watch star shows for free with every visit, as well as get a full year of additional members-only benefits.

Plus, members help support the Science Center and our mission to make science learning open to everyone.

Become a Member

Accessibility

Elevators and ramps serve all public areas of the McDonnell Planetarium.

We also offer hearing assist devices for Planetarium star shows. When ordering tickets, please let your reservationist know you’re interested in a hearing assist device, or speak with a Planetarium team member before your program begins.

With advance notice, the Planetarium offers Feeling the Stars, a custom tactile program for visitors with vision impairments that pairs with The Little Star That Could.

More About Accessibility